Brief Notes After The Apocralypse

I’ve borrowed a word from the always sharp and always funny Sir Terry Pratchett for my title, a portmanteau of Apocrypha and Apocalypse. The world, contrary to the hopes of those who wanted to stop it so they could get off, is still here.

It’s a time of change, though. I’m moving from my foreclosed house into a small apartment with my partner and child and maybe half of our stuff (most of my books, though). So I won’t be doing a lot here for the next few weeks, although I do have a HuffPo piece in the wings for next week.

I am currently working on another long one called “The Ontology of the Closet”. It’s in part a reaction to my recent readings in Queer Theory, and will end up in this space, hopefully before the middle of January.

One of the things that occurs to me is that the thousands of words I have here may very well be the seed of a book, and I’m interested in knowing if people would be interested in paying a pittance to have this material collected, edited, revised, and expanded into something like that. What do you think?

Please answer in the comments if a)you wouldn’t be interested in paying for what you can read for free, b)you would pay $X for the convenience of an ebook (suggested pricing $4.99 or $2.99), or c)only if it was going to be available in hardcopy (which would probably be a minimum of $15, $10 at the least due to the realities of printing costs).

Thanks!

About fliponymous

Bisexual activist, thinker, writer, husband, father, Licensed Professional Counselor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brief Notes After The Apocralypse

  1. evenaud says:

    I would happily pay for an ebook version!

  2. I would pay for a book, and I think the success of things like the Humble Bundle (both the story and game versions), Amanda Palmer’s latest release, the Cards Against Humanity holiday expansion pack and other “pay what you want” ventures have proven that people are willing to pay even when they can get it for free.

  3. spotter says:

    I would certainly buy it secondhand in bound form. New? Perhaps… Perhaps spend like 20-25 USD for it.

Questions, comments, concerns?

